Y is for YooHoo

Yoohoo image from Asheville Munchies

Yoohoo image from Asheville Munchies

YooHoo makes me happy. YooHoo makes me feel child-like, but also semi-responsible in the way that it is not soda. I have had a problem with soda since I was a teenager and mom couldn’t control what we were drinking as much. My sister and I both have this problem, Pepsi for me, Diet Caffeine Free Coke (why bother?) for her.

I do not drink coffee. I hate the smell, I hate the taste, I hate making it, I hate cleaning up after it, I hate anything that tastes similar to it, but I also hate being left out of the “Let’s go for coffee” rituals of everyone else I know. I am so thankful for single-serving coffee makers, because they really minimize the whole gross situation that I would have to contend with. So, throughout my adulthood thus far, I got my caffeine through soda.

For about 20 years, I would have at least a liter of soda per day. Sometimes more, sometimes a lot more. Soda made the taste of food go away more than water, so a meal never felt over until I had a big gulp of cola goodness. Soda started my day with a dash of caffeine, a ton of sugar, and that thirst-quenching I needed after a night’s sleep. I am the only person I know who, after a workout, wanted nothing more than a 20-oz Pepsi poured directly down her throat.

I am proud to say that it has been a year and a half since soda was a normal part of my day. A year or two before that I was cutting down. I would only have soda with lunch OR dinner, and did not drink it first thing in the morning at all. I stopped buying a 2-liter for the house, because that was too tempting. I bought those mini-keg cans and tried not to order or buy any additional soda when I was out. As of December 2013, I now have one can per week, as a rule, with our Chinese dinners every Tuesday Night (holla!). I cannot drink water with Chinese food. It’s like a punishment or something. Every once in a while, I’ll get soda at a restaurant, but it’s basically a treat these days, one that I usually don’t even finish.

It would really be great, but very dangerous, if I liked the boxes or cans of YooHoo as much as I like the glass bottle. Then I could just stock up on those and keep them in the house. But I like the bottle, and that’s helpful to my waistline. I like going to the convenience store up the street, taking that nice walk, getting a YooHoo and then walking home with it as a reward. It kind of negates the whole walk in calories, but it is leaps and bounds away from using a soda as a reward.

Drinking a YooHoo at the Laundromat, which is another weekly ritual, is so Mitten. There I sit, a responsible 40-year-old, doing the household’s laundry, making to-do lists and reading…with a chocolate milk mustache.

4 thoughts on “Y is for YooHoo

  1. What a cute post! I can just picture this at the laundromat. Who says you have to grow up and not wear a chocolate mustache anymore? I also like your Chinese Food Tuesdays. An interesting and yummy routine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m stopping by from the A to Z Challenge and just wanted to let you know about our party. The A to Z Reflections Linky List will open on Monday May 4th, and you’re more than welcome to join. 🙂

    I love YooHoo too! It’s my favorite sorta-like-milk beverage. It’s funny because I can’t stand coffee either, and most people think I’m so weird because I can’t even stand the smell of coffee. Good to know I’m not alone, haha! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

