A is for April

I like April. As months go, it is my 4th favorite. I like the weather. I like the word as a name. I like that it is a very celebratory month in general, and in my family specifically. I like that the good ole’ tax refund is making its merry way to my bank account. I like that it’s another 6-month increment/anniversary for Fi and me. I like that it is the best point in the hockey season. I even like that the second (fiscal year) quarter is starting, this is a good time to be on the job marketplace. The insanity of the beginning of the year has ended, and the long hot summer is yet to begin. I enjoy opening the windows and not worrying about bugs yet. April!

It rained and sleeted and snowed here yesterday for the last day of March. No more, I mean it! No April showers, I want sunny days! I remember when I was growing up, we had seasons, and the adages and almanac references made some sense. We put a little stock in guidelines like “March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb”, “April showers bring May flowers” and “If you put a load of laundry in and you are not in the house to watch it, there will be a fire!”. Oh, wait a minute. That isn’t one, that’s one of my mom’s rules that have little basis in fact.

The accuracy of some of these weather-based sayings used to be fairly high, but not anymore. Anything can and does happen, weather-wise, in the world over the past decade or so. Nothing can be taken for granted anymore.

In recent memory, however, April has been nice temperature-wise in my corner of the world. Let’s fling the windows open, shake out the rugs, break out the springtime-scented candles and party! My sister, niece, uncle and brother-in-law are all born in April. Between those and the Easter holiday, it’s non-stop visiting and merriment. I enjoy April Fool’s Day (today) and one of my other favorite days is later in the month.

April!

7 thoughts on “A is for April

  1. Hi,
    I was born in April. Yes, this is my birthday month.
    I know D. Parker. I came to thank you for visiting my site Reflections yesterday and liking my post “9 Ways to Avoid Gambling…”. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It was well received.
    Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

